Saturday, July 30, 2011

Hawaii Real Estate Market

We live in the beautiful state of Hawaii, and love almost everything about it. But there are trade-offs and one of them is the cost of living. The cost of real estate in Hawaii is high, but there are some places on the mainland which have similar prices, like San Francisco and New York. The Hawaii real estate market varies greatly depending on which island you’re considering. Oahu has the most expensive median home prices, but it has the most job opportunities and pay is generally higher there.
Most of the homes on Hawaii would be considered quite different from homes on the mainland. They are mostly wooden and have an island style to them. The yards are much smaller than in other states, but there’s no need for heaters and the grass stays green all year. Many homes have fruit trees,  including mango, papaya, banana, etc. There are a few neighborhoods near the ocean, and anything with an ocean view will be more expensive.
In order to learn more about the Hawaii real estate market, you should use the information on Zillow is well known for providing extensive real estate information, including estimated home values, plus what the sale price was for homes in the area you’re considering. They can provide estimated rental prices and what you can expect to pay in taxes.

This post is brought to you by

Friday, July 29, 2011

Appliance Junk Removal

Have you seen the program on A&E called Hoarders? On each episode they show two different households where one of the people living there is a hoarder. Hoarders can range from someone who go around the neighborhood and picks up stuff from the curb to someone who never throws anything away, including the trash and garbage. Those are extremes, but both lead to the same thing, a house full of stuff that will eventually need to be disposed of.

I know you’re probably not a hoarder, but most of us do have houses full of things we’ve accumulated over the years, and have not gotten rid of it all for various reasons. Maybe we’re keeping it for a garage sale, or we think our children will want it when they move out someday in the future. The problem is that it takes valuable space that you could be using for something better, like a play room for the children, or a crafts room.
If the problem gets too large, or you just don’t have the time or energy to get rid of junk you no longer need, you can log onto They specialize in Appliance Removal Chicago area. So if you have a garage full of old appliances or have some computers you want to recycle, give them a call. They will take your items to a landfill if they can’t recycle it or find a local charity that can use it.
This post is brought you by

Skillet Bacon Jam

My family loves bacon! We would always buy it at the grocery and have it for breakfast on the weekends and whenever day we can cook in the morning. I was given a free sample of Skillet Bacon Jam. It’s crushed bacon with spices already added. I tried it with bread alone, with spam and rice and I think it would be great too as a spice to add that bacon flavor in any dish. If you get this product, I’m sure you will have a lot of ideas to add it to your menu. After all, bacon is one of the most versatile food on the planet.  The Skillet Bacon Jam is so convenient to use whenever you feel that bacon craving.
To buy it, you can go to  There are also free recipes that you can find there.
I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Sunday, July 24, 2011

Cruise to Alaska

It’s been so hot recently. Summer is definitely here and is not going away anytime soon. This could be a record setting summer full of 100 degree days in the Midwest and Northeast US. On days like this, I think how nice it would be to go to Alaska and enjoy the cooler temperatures. But how would you get to Alaska? Some might drive, but that would be a very long trip through Canada. I’ve heard it’s a beautiful drive, but who has the time? Another option would be to fly. That’s quick, but then you would have to rent a car to get around seeing glaciers or trying great Alaskan seafood.
I think the ideal way to see Alaska would be on a cruise ship. Every desire would be pampered to, including room service and all the Alaskan seafood you can eat. Cruises are consistently rated the best vacation experience by travelers because they can relax and let the staff take care of everything.
One of the best website devoted to Alaska cruises is offer a full range of cruises with many dates and cruise lengths to choose from. They have a toll-free number to talk to a customer support representative. They include excellent Alaskan seafood and breathtaking views of glaciers and mountains. So stop sitting under an air conditioner and get out and enjoy your summer in cool, beautiful Alaska.
This post is brought to you by Thank you. I would love to see Alaska and we'll definitely consider Cruise Vacation Center.

Saturday, July 23, 2011

Stay in Touch With TracFone

This is a Sponsored post written by me on behalf of TracFone for SocialSpark. All opinions are 100% mine.

These days everyone has a cell phone. Kids are getting cell phones at earlier ages than ever before. Some people have even replaced their landline home phone with a cell phone, and that trend is growing. Cell phones have become part of our culture, and now we wonder how we ever got through life without them.

 There are many styles and features of cell phones. Some are flip phones, and some have keyboards to make texting easier. Many have cameras and can take videos. But one of the drawbacks of cell phones is the cost of the monthly plan we have with a carrier. I know friends and family who spend over $100 per month on their cell phone plans. 

There’s another option that will save you money, and it’s called TracFone. TracFone offers so many features including pre-paid phones and plans to those who don’t want to be bothered with monthly cell phone bills. You can pay as you go online or with cards available at thousands of retail stores across the country. You can also get one year service cards or receive double minutes for the life of your TracFone. To keep costs minimal, you can choose monthly plans with 200 minutes for under $30.00, and as low as $9.99 for 50 minutes. Here is a video with real TracFone customers.

For those of you who have family or friends in other countries, you can call over 60 countries internationally for the same price as any other call. With the International Neighbors program, you can provide family and friends in Mexico or Canada a local phone number in those countries to reach you at your TracFone in the U.S. So, if you want to simplify your cell phone expenses, check out the TracFone.

Visit Sponsor's Site

Cute items

I found these items at Zulily. I would love to have them for RC. I need a time out chair for her but maybe if the chair is this cute, she would want to sit down and don't mind being on time out. Zulily is something that I learned from other bloggers and I'm glad that I have found it. I already ordered twice from them and I will definitely still order in the coming days.

How about the last picture. It is a potty chair and rocking chair in one. Your little one can put his/her books on the side, read while going potty and the toilet paper is on the other side. Pretty smart but again I don't know if my daughter would want to be rocked while going potty. Zulily has so much cute stuff, especially clothing for babies and toddlers.

Summer at Hiltons of Branson

This is a Sponsored post written by me on behalf of Hiltons of Branson for SocialSpark. All opinions are 100% mine.

Each summer Branson has many great events, including Family Fishing Weekend and Fourth of July celebrations. You can visit Hiltons of Branson Site for the complete calendar of events. When you’re not watching live theatre, you can go to Silver Dollar City. It is a great Ozarks-themed amusement park with fantastic rides, shows, and exhibits the whole family will enjoy. I haven’t been to Silver Dollar City yet but I will definitely put it on my list the next time we visit Missouri.
A great place to stay is at the Hiltons of Branson, which are the Hilton Promenade at Branson Landing and the Hilton Branson Convention Center.  They are both great hotels which provide excellent service to guests and have outstanding amenities.  Both are located close to Branson attractions, including over 50 live performance theatres, Table Rock Lake, Shepard of the Hills, and many others.
While we were in Branson, we visited Ripley’s Believe it or Not Museum and went to Jim Stafford’s theatre where we had front row seats to a fantastic live music show by Jim and his family.  Ripley’s Museum has many wax figures which look very real and the exhibits cover many interesting subjects.  On our next trip to Branson we’ll be sure to see Silver Dollar City and see another show at one of the many music theatres. The photos above were from Ripley’s and Wax Museum.
At this time, Hiltons of Branson is offering the Branson Best Value Vacation package which includes the room, tickets to a Kung Fu show, passes to Silver Dollar City and gift cards for a restaurant and shopping. They are a kid-friendly hotel and their packages includes children's tickets too. Everyone in the family will have a great time. For more information, you can visit the Hiltons of Branson website.

Visit Sponsor's Site

Friday, July 22, 2011

Norway Bombing

I'm praying for all the victims of the Norway bombing. It seems that there were more lives lost than what was previously reported and a lot of them are young people.

You can check out the news here:

Wednesday, July 20, 2011

Rosetta Translation (Chinese)

I’m originally from the Philippines but I am part Chinese, one-quarter to be exact. Did you hear the buzz that the Chinese economy is growing rapidly and maybe soon will be larger than that of the US? A lot of businessmen are learning Chinese because of their economy is soaring and because of the number of people in China. Well, there’s debates about that and I wouldn’t want to focus on that with this article.

RC likes watching Nihao Kailan on TV where they say some Chinese translations during the program.  If you need high quality English translations, you can visit the Rosetta Translation website. They specialize in legal, financial, technical and even medical translation. The world is getting smaller and we may want to believe that English is the common language of the world but we are unable to deny the fact that there are still people who do not know how to speak English or are fluent at it, even foreigners who are wealthy. Rosetta Translation is a good resource for Chinese Translation service.
This post is brought to you by Rosetta Translation. For more information about Chinese translation company, please visit their website.

Get Back to School with MasterLock

I use lockers at work now and when I was still in school. The best advice I can give to survive a school year is to be organized, that way you can always be better prepared for class. You can use a calendar to list the important events and dates. It is important not to share your lock number to anyone so you can be assured that your belongings are safe. You can also try to fix your things where you can easily grab the books or items that you need most.
Master Lock is one of the best locks you can ever find. You can check them out on at You can also view a video here for some helpful tips about going back to school.

I am entering a contest for a Master Lock back-to-school prize pack as a member of the Mom Bloggers Club.

Tuesday, July 19, 2011

TerraBound Solutions

Just this past weekend, we went to an open house for a house that had just come on the market and the house has a spacious backyard with a fantastic view ocean view. I can see my family sitting in Adirondack chairs and feel the breeze outdoor.  Since we don’t have a backyard or even a deck, we can just go to the park and sit on park benches. I am actually glad that our apartment unit is just beside a park so I can take RC whenever it is convenient.   offers picnic tables and site furnishings that come in a variety of sizes, colors and materials.  This company is also going green and is using recycled materials to make their chairs and other outdoor furniture.  They transform waste like milk containers into a durable lumber.  Check out their website for some really cute Adirondack chairs for kids.   If your family likes to camp, these items can come in handy. You can choose tables and chairs that are either portable or secured to the ground.

This post is brought to you by

Totsy 3 piece kids clothing $9 + Free shipping 1st purchase

Just a quick shout out for Totsy!  3 piece clothing selling for just $9.00 each. Just like Zulily, it is a member's only site where you can receive discount up to 90% off. You can join HERE. It's free to join. Free shipping on your first order.

They have different stuff for sale from various premium brand companies. Not just for kids but also for ladies, mommies and daddies. At this time, they are also selling these bags originally $120+ for only $30+.

I just received my order today. I bought my daughter two pairs of shoes. Check out Totsy. I hope you'll like it as much as I do. Great deals.

Monday, July 18, 2011

Shout out for Zenni Optical!

This is a Sponsored post written by me on behalf of Zenni Optical for SocialSpark. All opinions are 100% mine.

Another shout out for Zenni Optical! Recently, in Time magazine, editor Bill Saporito stated that he had paid $1,000 for a pair of eyeglasses. Then he discovered Zenni Optical. After buying several pairs of prescription eyeglasses online for less than $20, including shipping, I estimate that Bill was overcharged about $980 for the pair he bought. All you need is a prescription and you can go online and buy quality eyewear for amazingly low prices.

Visit to find great glasses at very low prices that you won’t find at your local optometrist. I remember browsing through eyeglasses for about $400 for lenses and frames at my local eyewear store, when you could be paying much less at Zenni Optical. Zenni has a huge variety of frame styles to choose from, including reading glasses, bifocals, or progressive lenses. They also offer sunglasses and light-adjusting lenses so the sun’s glare won’t have you squinting when you’re outdoors. I'm honestly glad that I have found this website. I have seen a lot of great reviews online and I plan on ordering some eyeglasses already.

So, you can spend much more for the same quality glasses elsewhere, but why would you? Save your time and money, and shop at Zenni Optical.

Visit Sponsor's Site

Sunday, July 17, 2011

Super Frugal Idea

You may not want to do this frugal idea but I do. My excuse, well, it saves us  money and she only wears it inside the apartment. If you have a toddler, you know how many times they can change shirts in one day unless you keep putting bibs when they eat. My daughter likes to do painting with her watercolor so this outfit will be best for that too. The shirt size is 24 months which has gotten a little too small for her but when I cut the sleeves and the collar, it fits just fine. Now, she got some sleeveless shirts.

Thursday, July 14, 2011

Crowd Control

Many of us go to trade shows to see the latest gadgets or get ideas on how to do home improvements. We have gone to car shows and other types of trade shows, but haven’t made it to the Baby Expo yet and my  daughter is already a toddler. Some things all these events have in common are signs and displays to provide information and to control large crowds. 


Some methods for crowd control are stanchions which are those chrome poles that usually have a velvet rope hanging on them to keep people in lines or restrict their access to an area. You’ve seen them at the movie theatre or the bank. Some locations use barricades to keep people in line, such as at a grocery store when you’re checking out. If you’re planning an event or you just need signage for your retail space, you should check out They offer items for crowd control, but also informational items like signs and displays.

How about you? Do you like going to trade shows despite of the large crowd? It's really hard for me now since I had a child.

This post is brought to you by

Sunday, July 10, 2011

Walden University Review

These days with the economy so bad and many people unemployed or worried about keeping their jobs, it’s more important than ever to make sure you’re well educated and have marketable skills.  Some people go to trade schools or community colleges to learn new trades or to obtain extra education in their field, or even begin an education with the goal of changing careers in the future.  But, with all the strains and stresses put on us by our daily lives, sometimes it’s difficult to travel and attend a traditional university.

One option that I’ve learned about is online colleges and universities.  One that I’ve found is Walden University.  Their website is  This school would be a an excellent choice for someone who works during the day, or is a housewife who can’t get away during the day to attend a local college.  By taking courses through Walden University you can complete all your education requirements online.  What could be more convenient?  They have Enrollment Advisors who will work with you to set you up in the courses of your choice and they also will help you apply for student financial assistance if you need it. has information on all types of degrees and certification programs.  You can get a Bachelor’s, Master’s, or Doctoral Degree with Walden University.  So if you’re looking to upgrade your career or change your career path, take a look at Walden.

Submit a burger recipe

Get the juices flowing & submit your "No Ordinary Burger" recipe today! - Pork. Be Inspired.

If you are a great burger maker, you can join and submit your recipe.

I participated in a campaign as a member of One2One Network and am eligible for a prize drawing.

Saturday, July 9, 2011

Home Security

Security is very important to everyone and we all would like to feel that we’re secure, especially in our own homes.  We live in a high-rise apartment complex where there is 24-hour security and we will probably get an ADT security system installed if we ever live in our own house someday. 
I sometimes think that we should rent a cheaper place so we can save some money, but then it is more convenient to live here where it’s gated and close to town.  Home Security Daphne is an authorized dealer of ADT.  They have low monthly rates and you can call their toll-free number for a free security consultation.
It’s great to feel safe, you can just sit and watch your Direct TV, eat popcorn and worry less.
This post is brought to you by our friends from

I won!

I received this Land's end polo yesterday. It will be for my husband. I won this from one of the blog giveaways.

This shirt I won from a fashion blog. I love the graffiti print on it. It's very comfy too.

So far, this has been my favorite $50 gift card from an online community raffle in exchange for a blog post. I almost did not join, I was trying to get out of the task but it was too late. Thank goodness, I did join because I won. I received it last week. It's time to go shopping.

I'm still waiting for one more item that I won and hopefully, I will have even more luck in joining these contests.

Thank you for dropping by my blog.

Friday, July 8, 2011

Blue Sky Scrubs

I’m not required to wear scrubs at work but if I were, I would order from BlueSkyScrubs.  They have been featured in Oprah magazine and one of their scrub hats was also seen at Grey’s Anatomy.  For scrubs, I notice they have more of the solid and pastel colors which are more on the sophisticated side but their scrub hats are fun and full of color.
They also offer Baby and Kid’s scrubs which are so cute! My daughter would love to wear this since she is already into playing about being a doctor.  She and her friends at the child care center are playing this pretend almost every morning.
This post is brought to you by our friends from

Wednesday, July 6, 2011

Website Review: The Steam Team of Texas

Do you live in Texas and needs professional help with upholstery cleaning? You can check out The Steam Team of Texas, here’s the  website—  They don’t only provide carpet and upholstery cleaning but a lot of other services that includes hardwood floor refinishing, rug and leather cleaning, water extraction, construction services, pet odor treatments and more.  Here are some other links:

water & fire damage restoration austin
tile sealing products austin

I don’t live in Texas but I was comparing the websites we have here locally and there is nothing like The Steam Team of Texas that offers so many services. You can get a quick quote or order online through their website.  This company has over 25 years of cleaning experience.
This company also gives back to the community by being a donor and supporter of local organizations. They are also going “green”.  It’s great to learn more about going green companies. I am trying to be environmentally friendly nowadays too through recycling and using green products.

This post is brought to you by our friends from The Steam Team of Texas. Thank you for allowing me to review your website. 

Monday, July 4, 2011

Win a Hip T of your choice!

Hi there! Happy 4th of July everyone!  I just want to let you know that I am having a giveaway at my other blog. Win a Hip T of your choice, a $20 value. Hip T offers basic and sassy prints. The giveaway will end on July 9, 2011.

It's easy to enter. I would appreciate more participants since less than 100 is considered a low entry and I got 70+ comments so far and some of them are non-participating.

Thank you in advance for those who will be entering.

Google Page Rank 2

Page Rank Check

I knew the buzz about Google updating the page ranks lately but I have not been expecting to have a page rank for this blog, at least not yet. I am happy when I checked it today and I got a PR 2. For those who monetize their blog, you probably know that page rank is important is to get some sponsors and though I agree that you will have to love blogging first and then try to monetize. Even if you don't monetize, I think the page rank is also a measure of success of one's blog.

I honestly don't have any idea how I got 2 and 3 PRs on my blogs. I tried to read something about it and I am just learning that Google can be unpredictable when it comes to page ranks and we don't exactly know how.

Congratulations Mom Daughter Reviews blog, you made my day
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...